Published On: Sat, Dec 29th, 2012

2012 MMFF Complete List Of Winners

38th mmff 2012 logoFor the film industry in the Philippines, Christmas Day is also being celebrated through showcasing the country’s best movies. Every year the Metro Manila Film Festival will be awarding the best among bests.

There are movies that have been consistent through the years but the winners were never been predictable. Over the years, entries are becoming world class just like the movie “Thy Womb” wherein the lead actress Nora Aunor grabbed the Best Actress award so as the Best Director nod for Brilliante Mendoza. The movie was able to make it to the Cannes Festival and a lot more award giving bodies in the international film industry. The movie didn’t only showcase the acting skills of the superstar but also showed to the world the actual Philippine living situation.

Other entries like “El Presidente” grabbed the most number of awards but the comedy film “Sisterakas” won the heart of the viewers by being the top grosser with more than 100 million worth of ticket sales on its first three days.

The film “One More Try” won the best picture and lead actor Dingdong Dantes won the Best Actor award.

Here is the complete list of winners:

Best Float:
“El Presidente”

Youth Choice Award:
“El Presidente”

Best Child Star:
Miguel Vergara, “One More Try”

Best Sound:
Michael Idioma, “El Presidente”

Best Musical Score:
Jessie Lazatin, “El Presidente”

Best Theme Song: and Jamir Garcia, “El Presidente”

Best Make-up:
Warren Munar, “El Presidente” by Warren Munar and company.

Best Special Fffects:
“Shake, Rattle & Roll 14: The Invasion”

Best Production Design:
Brillante Mendoza, “Thy Womb”

Best Editing:
Vito Kahili, “One More Try”

Best Cinematography:
Odyssey Flores, “Thy Womb”

Best Supporting Actor:
Cesar Montano, “El Presidente”

Best Supporting Actress:
Wilma Doesnt, “Sisterakas”

Best Original Story:
Henry Burgos, “Thy Womb”

Best Screenplay:
Anna Ramos, “One More Try”

Best Director:
Brillante Mendoza, “Thy Womb”

Best Actress:
Nora Aunor, “Thy Womb”

Best Actor:
Dingdong Dantes, “One More Try”

3rd Best Picture:

2nd Best Picture:
“El Presidente”

Best Picture:
“One More Try”

About the Author

- is a news contributor for the Associated Press, where she worked for the last four years. Before moving to London to work at the U.K. headquarters of Dateline News, she developed websites on various youth-focused agency working on brands such as Hershey, Bic, and Heineken. Previous to that, Cindy is an online news contributor for The Wallstreet Journal. Cindy also plays the violin with an orchestra and loves to eat sushi.

This article is filed under:

, ,

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>